Katy Rogan – Fashion Photography

I apologize for the lack of posts these past 2/3 weeks. Life has been hectic with moving, starting a new job, and starting school. But we finally got internet in our new house, and my life is back on schedule. Expect a lot of posts from now on! And they will once again be posted on a regular basis.

The other day I got very excited to see some new shots by Katy Rogan. I featured her underwater  pictures on my blog a few weeks ago. Once again, my friend Megan Ishizu is in these new photographs. With her is my other close friend, Emily Byrne. I really enjoy how unique and beautiful their faces are. They add the right touch of contrast to the images with their different face shapes.

There is such a strong perspective behind this shoot. And the makeup is beyond superb. The summery, bright-eyed look of Megan’s face is really brightened by her white dress. I also enjoy how her hair is swept off her face and into a messy braid. The best close-up photograph of her is the one with the sun behind her and the feathers in her face. The light frames her face and really adds an intensity that could not have been possible with different makeup and lighting.

Emily’s looks is very different from Megan’s, but the two balance each other. And while Emily’s eye makeup is much stronger, it still evokes the same sense of intensity and framing. You can really see this in the close up image of her face. The black liner makes her eyes pop. And they are done with perfection. If you look closely, the curve of her makeup matches up with the curve of her eyebrow. It allows for an interesting framing technique. Eyeliner only on the bottom of the eye has been popping up all over the place. Definitely a new makeup trend for us to try.

I think these photos are awesome. They really draw me in and make me feel as though I am also out in the field. What do you think of these photos?

Click here to like Katy Rogan Photography on Facebook!



One last note, I am looking for a new photographer in the Minneapolis area. Lexie is studying abroad this semester in Italy. If you or anyone you know would be willing to take pictures of me, please email me at wellse81@gmail.com. No fashion photography experience is needed. Thanks!

Leave a comment