Guthrie Blues

Well, I finally found a photographer! We have already done a few shoots, so I have some new material to post =]. If you like his photography, you can find his Facebook here. For our first photo shoot together we headed to the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis. The Guthrie is an iconic building along the riverfront. The theater is known for its architecture and marvelous plays. If you haven’t been there yet, I highly recommend you see something on the thrust stage.

Going to plays is a fun way to spend an afternoon or evening. It also provides an excuse to get dressed up and get out of the house. You can really pump up the drama in an outfit you plan to wear to a play. Channel the idea of costumes and stage appeal as you get dressed. And be very playful in your choice of accessories!

I pumped up the drama in my outfit with this jacket. It’s from Len Drusken in the Southdale Mall in Edina, Minnesota. If I remember correctly, it cost less than $30. I don’t have many excuses to wear this jacket but love when I do. It is very architectural, so I felt it was very appropriate for the Guthrie.

This ring was a gift from two of my friends. I love the touch it adds to my outfit. The ring reminds me of Alice in Wonderland along with all things eccentric.

The Guthrie theater has a lot of unique areas throughout. This is on one of the top floors of the building. It provides a beautiful view of the river. The yellow tint of the windows enhances the colors in the distance. There is also an area with glass on the floor, which provides a startling look at the ground far below.

This dress goes perfectly with my jacket. The dress was made by Cynthia Rae. I think it may be one of only two sold, which makes me love it even more. The subtle, organic pattern flows well with the shape of the jacket. The colors blend seamlessly bringing more attention to the silhouette of the look.

Finally, I really like how you can see a reflection of the buildings in this picture. You can also see the blue of the Guthrie outside. The blue of my dress matched the blue of the theater perfectly.

The Guthrie:

Leave a Reply

